Committees & Auxiliaries

Our Temple stays vibrant and alive through its Committees. Serving on a committee requires no special expertise other than a willingness to try. Meet people, participate in a rewarding experience and help forge the future of our Temple by joining one of our outstanding Committees. See below for our active committees and their respective contacts. To learn more about Committee involvement, please reach out to the corresponding Committee contact or call the Temple at (757)625-4295.

Executive Committee

John Cooper

First Vice President
Sharon Nusbaum

Second Vice President
Barb Gelb

Mike Jaffe

Steve Kocen

Lawrence Steingold

Immediate Past President
Terri Budman

Sisterhood & Men’s Club

Sisterhood President
Gail Bachman
Margaret Sawyer
Email the Sisterhood President

Men’s Club Acting President
Mark Friedman
Email the Men’s Club President

Finance & Development Committee

Neal Schulwolf, Chair
Email the F & D Committee Chair

House Committee

Security and Special Needs

Engagement Committee

Carol Roth Brum, Chair
Email the Engagement Committee Chair


Caring Community

Caring Community Sub-Groups

Jackie Haywood & Christina Verderosa
Email Eco-Judaism

Shalom Greeters
Nili Belkin
& Tova Beach
Email Shalom Greeters

Ellie Cesario
Erle Marie Latimer
Marsha Moody
Email the Outreach Group

Military Support & Outreach
Frank Campion
Email Military Support & Outreach

(Norfolk Emergency Shelter Team)

Andy Fox
Email NEST Group

Soup Kitchen 
Dorianne Villani
Email Soup Kitchen

Education Committee

Deb Higgins, Chair
Email the Education Committee Chair

Education Committee Sub-Groups

Sunday Learning
Tammi Foer
Alyson Morrissey
Email Sunday Learning

Adult Education
Barb Gelb
Email Adult Education

Torah Study
David Metzger
Email Torah Study Group

Mark Friedman
Email the Archives

Mark Friedman

Email the Library

Gail Bachman
Email Scholarships


Jay Lazier, Chair
Email the Worship Chair

Worship Committee

Music Committee

Chuck Woodward, Chair
Email the Music Committee Chair